Can't seem to make any real dents in speed, seem to be going backwards

Hello, I am pretty new to web development, and have been given the task of optimizing my non-profit camp’s web page. Our recent test results are here:
http://www.webpagetest.org/result/111221_9E_2KMEB/

I’ve worked quite hard to try and figure this out by reading the forums and working with various plugins, but can’t seem to make any increases in performance. I installed force gzip plugin, but my text compression still seems lousy. I’ve used w3 total cache, but I apparently fail to cache static images. I’m not sure how to optimize the use of that plugin, but I am sure that I am not doing it!

January is the biggest month for booking retreats, and I was hoping to have everything optimized both for my users and for the search engines by then, but after a week or so of plugging away it appears I may have even made things worse! I have no clue why the second load time of my site would be slower than the first if I am caching things, for instance!

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated…this is all so much more complicated than I anticipated!

Couple of notes:

1 - It looks like your first byte times are really painful (2+ seconds). In W3TC settings, do you have “Page Cache” enabled? How about Object Cache and Database Cache? If so, are they configured for Disk?

2 - It looks like your css and images are not being cached by the browser. Do you have “Browser Cache” enabled in the W3TC settings?

Hey Patrick! Thanks for responding.

I have all of those settings “enabled”, and I disabled preview mode. Did I need to also “deploy” the settings from the preview? When I tried to do that, I kept getting error messages telling me to try again. All the settings I have are exactly as you describe, but nothing good seems to be coming of it. Does the plugin have a lag time before it actually impacts performance? I made these adjustments today.[hr]
Correction, it says, “Are you sure you want to do this?”