CDN Issue / Question?

Hi everyone!

I’m new to using WebPageTest (What a handy tool!), and noticed an issue (or question perhaps) that I wanted to ask about.

When I run WebPageTest, it tells me that I don’t have an “effective use of CDN” (I have a big black X), but my website does use CDN through 1&1’s web hosting.

Is there a reason why WebPageTest would not think that I have a CDN, or is there a reason why the CDN may not be “effective”?

It just seemed odd to me, so I wanted to ask to see what might be going on there. If there’s something that I need to do on my end, I want to make sure that it gets done.

Thanks for your help!

The X just means you aren’t using a CDN.

The “effective use of CDN” is a judgment call, as in many cases CDNs just don’t make sense.

Thank you very much for your response.

I AM using a CDN however, so I’m a little confused as to why WebPageTest doesn’t see that. My concern is that Google also may not be able to see it…?

I’m not sure if this is a bug in WebPageTest, or something specific to my CDN (which is provided through 1&1).

Thank you very much for your help!

I could have said this better as logic call, rather than judgement call.

For example, with membership sites, CDNs make zero sense, because no content can be cached + if it ever is, then you’re down a bottomless rabbit hole debugging odd problems.

If your LAMP Stack is tuned, so your native site throughput is measured in 1000s of reqs/sec, then most likely CDNs will provide no benefit + never ending debug problems.

If your site is very slow + you can’t afford hiring someone to tune it, then use CloudFlare’s free version, till you have enough profit to hire someone to tune your LAMP Stack for you.

As for Google seeing your CDN, all you have to do is visit your site using…

curl -I -L $URL

and you’ll see all your site headers.

And use dig to ensure your DNS is correctly pointed to your CDN…

dig $host/$domain ns