CDN List - Affordable and Effective CDN Websites

Hey there,

One thing I want to do in the long run is place all my static assets on a CDN. There are a lot of different plans on the internet. So what I would like to do is open this thread up for discussion.

What is your favorite CDN?

How much does your CDN cost?

How many locations world wide does your CDN company have?

What other information would you like to share about your CDN?

To start the list, I have read about the Amazon Cloudfront CDN located here: Low-Latency Content Delivery Network (CDN) - Amazon CloudFront - Amazon Web Services

However, I have no personal experience with this company. What do you guys think about this service? Do you know of a more affordable yet effective CDN website?

Sincerely,
Travis Walters

We use Internap (resold via Softlayer). They have POPs in Atlanta; Boston; Chicago; Dallas; Denver; El Segundo; Houston; Miami; New York; Philadelphia; Phoenix; San Jose; Seattle; Washington, DC; Sydney; Tokyo; Singapore; Hong Kong; Amsterdam; London and costs me $0.20/GB .

Using their “Origin pull” service makes it very convienent for me by removing hassle of syncing CDN folders…

While Internap suits me better compared to AWS cause they have more continents covered, im looking for a provider which also has a POP in India. Akamai is a candidate, but i don’t like them a lot cause they made me fill a very detailed sales request form only to give me a one line message that they don’t entertain sales queries from my country (Thailand)…

The big boys are Akamai and Limelight (most of the really large sites will use one or both).

I’m a pretty big fan of MaxCDN (http://www.maxcdn.com/) and use it for WebPagetest. They also do an “origin pull” which makes it really easy to integrate. Intro pricing is $40 for 1 TB for the first year and then $90 for 1TB/year after that.

i looked into maxcdn (know abt it via webpagetest.org ) … but not having operational POPs in Asia is a deal breaker for me…