dummynet on windows 8 64bit

Hi,
I’ve got webpagetest running on windows7 64bit but when I try the same setup on windows8 I can’t get the dummynet ipfw.cmd to work. Each step says "my_socket failed 5, cannot talk to kernel module. ipfw: socket: No error’

I installed the 64bit netwrok service and used the 64bit dummynet files under c:\webpagetest\agent\dummynet, just as with windows7.

Nick

Just as a sanity check, are you running the ipfw.cmd in a shell that has administrator rights? Did you also put the machine into test mode and reboot before installing the driver?

I have it running in 32-bit Windows 8 and 64-bit Server 2008 R2 and 64-bit Server 2012 but I don’t think I’ve tried a 64-bit Windows 8 yet so I’ll also see if I can reproduce it.

I started a command prompt as administrator and ipfw appeared to run ok. (I think windows8 is more locked down, I am an administrator on the box, and didn’t need to do this on windows7)
But when I run a test, urlblast says it has completed the urls but the report is empty. Maybe I have to install the driver in test mode (which I didn’t do before). I didn’t get any error messages though… So, how do you put windows8 into test mode? I did find this:

[url=http://www.ngohq.com/?page=Files&go=giveme&dwn_id=826]NGOHQ.com

but not sure if I should trust it? Is there another way? I am running over remote desktop…

Thanks,
Nick
[hr]
I tried using Chrome. Launching IE on the same box (having closed urlblast). I got a message box saying chrome had crashed but left it alone. The test ran but IE also crashed. I brought IE back up and the test had run but I only got a good result from the repeat view. the first view had missing data.

I am generally finding windows 8 a pain so I wouldn’t put this as a priority. I haven’t fully switched yet…
[hr]