average connection speeds and impact on load times

I’m trying to figure out how to explain performance gains in layman’s terms (to clients).

I’m mostly a front-end/SEO practitioner but I have learned how to enable gzip in .htaccess and some other backend techniques (which is to say I’m not very experienced with networking and traffic).

I have been told that connection speeds which are listed as ‘Mbps’ are Mega bits per second, and therefore aren’t a direct translation to file sizes which are in MB (Megabytes).

How do I translate them and what are ‘normal’ connection speeds?

For instance, this site lists “Mobile 3G” as an option with a denoted Dowloadspeed of 1.6Mbps, Upload speed of 768Kbps and a Round Trip Time of 300ms. I understand what those things are but how much actual loading time should that (everything else being equal) save if I shave 200 Kilobytes off of the JS.

Even harder to explain, let’s say the site loads 60 resources (60 HTTP requests) and I reduce that by 10 (to 50–all from the same domain–I understand how and why this is important). How much time would that generally save?

I don’t need anything absolute, just a guideline so when a non-technical person asks (a client or a non-dev co-worker) I can say that ‘the time I spent should, as a rule of thumb, speed up the site for a 3G user by 2.5 seconds and a typical broadband user by 1.3 seconds’ or whatever.

I just need an approximate conversion between some of these factors and the real world (aside from running before and ofter tests with tools like this).

Thanks.

1 bit = 8 bytes so multiply the file size by 8. Though there’s also networking overhead and that assumes perfect utilization. New connections need to warm up first so it’s a best-case.