First Byte Time scores F

I recently purchased a new theme and installed wordpress on my GoDaddy hosting account for my portfolio. I am still working on it, but as of right now I sometimes get page load speeds of 10-20seconds, and others 2 seconds (usually after the page has been cached). I have done all that I believe I can (without breaking the site) to optimize my performance speed (reducing image sizing, using a free CDN, using W3 Total Cache, etc).

It seems that my main issue is this ‘TTFB’ wait time I get whenever I go to a new page that hasn’t been cached yet. How I can fix this? Is it the theme’s fault? Do I NEED to switch hosting providers? I really don’t want to go through the hassle of doing that and paying So much more just to have less than optimal results. I am new to this.

My testing site: http://test.ninamariephotography.com/

See my Web Page Results here: http://www.webpagetest.org/result/161111_9W_WF0/

Thank you in advance to anyone for your help:)

the first time byte results are really bad.

I think if it is always like that. you may think to change your hosting provider maybe.

some quick recommendations for image properties and processing on your test results:

1. detect if a jpeg is progressive. always use progressive images: Progressive JPEG tester

2. a very cool & free image optimizer (both as gimp plugin and as standalone install). I always use this software to convert images to jpeg, to resize and optimize images. there is also batch job option:
    RIOT - Radical Image Optimization Tool

note that these image optimizations will not effect first time byte.

I’m seeing 11-20 second times, so here’s how I’d determine the next step.

1. You’re using WordPress, so first change your theme to TwentySixteen + retest.

You can go one step further + use the http://wptest.io data. Doing a test with TwentySixteen + test data or your own site data will tell you a bit about your hosting.