Improving First Byte Time

I am currently running a Magento store, along with Wordpress, and a forum software. My Wordpress and forum seem to be performing fine, but my store’s first byte time is slow (7.2s!!!) and received an F when testing. I am attempting to do all I can to decrease this and improve my site speed.

I am currently running on a VPS server and have Apache, NGINX, and APC installed. I have tried Apachebooster which did not work with with my forum software, and I also tried Memcached, which seemed to significantly slow down the site.

I was looking into enabling FastCGI, I am using DSO right now, but it looks like it may take significant configuration to work with APC. I also have KeepAlives disabled, my host said it is always recommended to have KeepAlives disabled when running NGINX. Is this true? I am completely new to a VPS and the whole server thing, and all of this is a lot to take in.

I was looking at this previous thread: http://www.webpagetest.org/forums/showthread.php?tid=10629

Someone mentioned Xcache or eAccelerator. Would either of these significantly improve my first byte time? Or do you have any other suggestions?

Thank you!

First off, you need memory, lots and lots of memory. Make sure you’ve fed plenty to your database so that it’s able to respond to most of your queries from memory. Once sated, the amount of cpu required is surprisingly small.

As you’re already running nginx, install php in php-fpm mode, and throw apache away completely. APC runs far, far better across php-fpm than it does with apache modules ( eAcellerator seems to be king over there ), and I find the resultant chain ( nginx → php-fpm → mysql ) far simpler to understand and tune. Once this is up and running, you’ll need to start tuning up php resources ( high timeouts for admin services, plenty of mem again - 384 - 512MB per process ).

This will speed stuff up appreciably. If anything APC as an opcode cacher will make the most change.