Test results not posting to server

I am troubleshooting an issue on an internal WPT install and thought I would see if anyone else has experienced what I am seeing.

I have a WPT server (Version 2.5 with some customizations) which is running on a fairly standard Windows Server 2008 R2 instance on EC2. I am using AMI ami-5982d01c for my test client, spinning up with the standard set of user data.

I am kicking off tests on a schedule via the Python API for a group of about 20 sites. This runs every half hour as we are trying to collect trend data.

I’ve been running this for several months with no major issues, except that a test would occasionally complete with the message “The test completed but there were no successful results.” and a blank waterfall etc… (This was maybe 1 in 500 tests, so I didn’t worry about it).

Last week however, without any apparent change on my part, all tests are now displaying this message. I tried killing the test agent and spinning up a new one, but I am still getting the same results. I’ve verified that I can access getwork.php from the test machine, and I can see the requests being made successfully using a packet sniffer. I can also see the tests running in a browser if I RDP into the test agent box.

In the “results” folder on the server, I can see that test folders are being created and a testinfo.json.gz file and testinfo.ini file are present along with an empty “video” folder.

Based on this info, it seems like the tests are running, but somehow the results files are not posting to the server, even though connectivity doesn’t seem to be an issue.

I’ve checked permissions and even tried setting to “Full Control” for everyone on the WebPageTest folder just to eliminate that possibility.

I also tried launching tests manually via the web interface of course, but get the same exact result.

Any thoughts on other things I can try to troubleshoot this? I’ve really exhausted every possibility I can think of at this point.