Very slow load speed

I’m new to web design, and very inexperienced with site optimization. I’m definitely a designer rather than a developer, but I want to be able to solve my own problems. I’m putting together a Wordpress site with Divi which is very image heavy, and the child theme css is pretty large. I’m experimenting with a number of plugins trying to speed things up, but I can’t get a lot of the files to compress, most significantly the child theme css file. I was playing around with the .htaccess file, but anytime I tried to put anything in there it broke the site. The temporary url is http://gunga.users.sonic.net/. Any advice? Pleeez?

Seeing your metrics, I think you have the site faily optimized, what do you miss, it’s the use of a CDN, because your server looks a bit slow, a free CDN like Cloudflare, should do the trick, but looking at your URL, seems to me that do don’t have access to the DNS configuration, am I right?

I’d consider changing the server in that case, you can get a new server for as low as 5$ per month.

In my oppinion, your problem relies on the high latency of your hosting, but that’s of course, just an oppinion.

Thanks, Markohs. I’ve been using this url to build the site-- my final url will be marthawadedesign.com. I think this changes things? Not sure, I will look into it. Do you have any advice about how to compress specific files that don’t seem to be affected by the plugins I’m using? I appreciate your time and help!

Hi. No need to compress images any further, you already have A grade on that subject:

http://www.webpagetest.org/result/151028_J9_PGP/